Low Speed Vehicle Information

Posted: October 3 2016

 

 

STATE OF DELAWARE

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES

LOW SPEED VEHICLES – CUSTOMER HANDOUT

Delaware Code Title 21, Section 2113A defines a "low speed vehicle” (LSV) as a four wheeled

motor vehicle, other than a truck, whose speed attainable in one mile is more than

20 miles per hour but no more than 25 miles per hour on a paved, level surface. The low

speed vehicle shall be limited to a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of less than 2,500

pounds and shall meet the requirements of Part 49, Section 571.500 of the Code of Federal

Regulations. Homemade vehicles, all-terrain vehicles and retrofitted golf carts do not

qualify. Dealers who wish to sell LSVs must be licensed by the Division of Motor

Vehicles to do so.

Low speed vehicles shall only be operated on Delaware two-lane roadways where the

posted speed limit is 35 miles per hour or less. Low speed vehicles shall not be operated

on dual highways, regardless of the posted speed limit, except to cross the highway at a

designated intersection. Delaware law allows local governments to allow operation on

dual highways within incorporated cities and towns if the respective municipal government

enacts an ordinance permitting such movement on dual highways with a speed limit of 35

miles per hour or less. A vehicle operator will not operate a low speed vehicle on a

roadway where the posted speed limit is greater than 35 miles per hour except to cross

such roadway at a marked intersection. Low speed vehicle owners must check with their

local governments to verify what ordinances are in effect.

TITLE/REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS

Low speed vehicles must be titled, registered and insured prior to operating on Delaware

roadways. The vehicles shall be issued a standard-sized numbered license plate that must

be displayed on the rear of the vehicle. Vanity and other special license plates can be

displayed on a low speed vehicle.

TITLING A NEW LOW SPEED VEHICLE

You must have a manufacturer’s Statement of Origin/Certificate of Origin

for the vehicle. The document must state the vehicle is a low speed vehicle.

The Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) must be verified by a Division

inspection technician who will also ensure the vehicle meets all federal

equipment standards. The inspection technician will provide you with an

MV212 Form that must be completed prior to titling the vehicle. An offsite

inspection fee of $15.00 shall be charged for this service. Please call your

04/07

nearest DMV facility to arrange an offsite inspection. Vehicle owners may

trailer their vehicles to DMV for an inspection for no fee.

Title work can be processed at any DMV facility.

Valid proof of Delaware insurance must be provided at the time of titling.

NOTE: Authorized dealers may perform the VIN verification and complete the MV212

Form. Dealers shall be required to complete an MV2009 (Inspection Form) on the vehicle,

which must be provided prior to titling the vehicle.

TITLING A USED LOW SPEED VEHICLE

Titles from other states must clearly identify the vehicle as a LSV.

The VIN must be verified by a DMV inspection technician who will also

ensure the vehicle meets federal equipment standards. The inspection

technician will provide you with an MV212 Form that must be completed

prior to titling the vehicle. An inspection fee of $15.00 shall be charged for

this service. Please call your nearest DMV facility to arrange an inspection.

Vehicle owners may trailer their vehicles to DMV for an inspection for no

fee.

Title work can be processed at any DMV facility.

Valid proof of Delaware insurance must be provided at the time of titling.

REGISTRATION RENEWAL

An MV2009 Form must be completed certifying all safety equipment has

been checked. The only inspection requirement for the vehicle is the self

inspection on the MV2009. This form must be presented to DMV when the

vehicle registration is renewed.

Valid proof of Delaware insurance must be provided at the time of renewal.

OPERATING RESTRICTIONS

A LSV may not be driven on Delaware roadways with posted speed limits

that exceed 35 miles per hour except to cross such roadways at designated

intersections.

A LSV cannot be operated on any dual highway in Delaware, regardless of

the posted speed limit, except to cross such highways at designated

04/07

intersections. Local governments may adopt ordinances to allow the

operation on some dual highways with speed limits of 35 miles per hour or

less.

All LSVs must have a 17-digit Vehicle Identification Number.

ose used in

regular motor vehicles. Seat belts must be worn by all other occupants.

as other operators on

PENALTIES (Title 21, Section 2113A)

Child restraints in a LSV must meet the same standards as th

If the LSV is operated on Delaware roadways, it must be insured.

Operators of LSVs must have a valid driver’s license.

Operators of LVSs are subject to the same violations

the road.

hoever violates this law less than $50 nor more

an $100. For each sub ot less than $100

W shall for the first offense be fined not

th sequent like offense the person shall be fined n

nor more than $200 or imprisoned not less than 10 days nor more than 30 days or both.

Click the following link to download the Low Speed Vehicle Self Inspection Affidavit:   https://www.dmv.de.gov/forms/veh_serv_forms/pdfs/low_speed_vehicle_inspection_affidavit_0407.pdf?052208



Most Wanted